Critique 2 – Working Progress 6 – Receive Information and Transfer Information

20 Apr

This is one of the hardest steps I encounter in this FYP project on Google Maps API. Anyway, I’ve learn so many things in order to accomplish this project, which most of it I never touch it before. From html(only know some basic), java, css, php, mysql, xml, Google Maps API….many many.

It’s not easy, but at least I breakthrough each problem, one by one.

In this process, I consult many people, join Google Maps Group in Google Group to consult professional there, consult my friend Jack Tan since he knows php and mysql. Consult lecturer, and also consult my other friends study in IT. Beside asking people, Google is the silence tutor of mine. Every problem, just keep digging, there sure be a solution there, but for a beginner like me, scripting and debugging hardly find in Google as well, need to understand and debug by myself. Many steps to go on, and many try and fail.

So here’s the success process, the correct path:

sql_php1

sql_php1

Start from creating a databases in my Cpanel. Need a database to receive the data, ya, for sure.

sql_php2

sql_php2

A user in the database.

Learning from: http://code.google.com/apis/maps/articles/phpsqlinfo.html

sql_php4

sql_php4

Following the tutorials in Google Maps API, change my submitting button on Google Maps (Previously on Share Your Green page). This is much more better as it is more user friendly and easier for people to work on.

After users key in their data and click submit, there’ll be a text stated that the location had successfully added:

sql_php5

sql_php5

And the database in my phpMyAdmin would receive the data and gather it in the table I create before:

sql_php3

sql_php3

Then follow the toturial, create a table with the information in it.

Just follow all the process in the tutorial below. Keep testing, some process hard to understand, some process keep fail, and at the end, succeed.

Then another tutorial to take all the information in my phpMyAdmin SQL data and transform it into XML file, and show it on Google Maps.

From: http://code.google.com/apis/maps/articles/phpsqlajax.html#createtable

So here’s the master sources for most of the problems I face at this stage. Thanks for friends in Google Maps Group for the reply and sharing these links and guide to me. It really leads me to figure what’s the prob I’m having for the moment and what should I do next. Before this, I seriously blur where I’m lacking. It’s a big leap, like a lighting shine in the dark. 😀

http://code.google.com/apis/maps/documentation/javascript/v2/articles.html

From Info Windows to a Database: Saving User-Added Form Data

:Shows how to prompt users to fill out information in an infowindow, and then save that information back into a database.

Using PHP/MySQL with Google Maps

Shows how to use PHP/MySQL and the Google Maps API to create a map that polls data from a database and shows as markers.

Creating a User-Contributed Map with PHP and Google SpreadsheetsShows how to create a user-contributed map, where users can register, login, and add markers to a map, all using PHP + Google Spreadsheets for the backend.

*Google have most of the tutorials of how to do it, as long as I dig for the information, read and understand, do and try, test and debug, and it will eventually lead me to succeed.

Leave a comment